paperandribbon

Sometimes I use the paper and ribbon that I have hoarded.

Crafting Tools

on November 15, 2011

Here’s a list of tools that I want:

  • Sewing Machine: I don’t know how to sew, but I want to learn. I think just a basic model will do at first, but eventually I will want one that does the edging.
  • Button-maker machine: In my head, I am justifying this $250+ purchase by selling buttons I will make on Etsy. Each button size needs its own machine so I am agonizing over which size will be the most useful. For now, the 1″ diameter is in the lead.
  • Circle punch: While the Cricut can cut out circles, having a punch means I can choose placement of the cuts. I will want these in different sizes.
  • Scallop punch: Similar to the circle punch, but with scalloped edges!
  • Crop-A-Dile: Grommets on everything.

Here’s a list of tools that I already have:

  • Cricut: I have two of these actually, but one resides with my younger sister because I am nice.
  • Paper cutter: I have two paper cutters that make straight cuts. One uses a rotary blade and can fit up to a 12″x12″ piece of paper/
  • Fiskars shape cutters: These are nice for cutting out fun shapes, but I find that sometimes the blade does funny things and you don’t get clean edges.
  • Scissors: I have a pair of super-sharp scissors with super-pointy tips that have injured me, and I have several pairs that do the shaped edges, except I don’t know where they are. I let a friend borrow them and we are both not sure if she returned them or not.
  • Self-healing mat: Mine is small, maybe around 8.5″x11″. I want to replace it eventually with a larger one.
  • Scoreboard: It took me a while to understand why this would be useful – can’t I just use a straight edge and a credit card? This is really useful for when you need to make multiples of the same thing, the measuring guides keep you on track.
Leave a Reply

